Europe Travel News

Denmark Imposes New Entry Rules for Travellers From Belgium & France

Denmark placed Belgium and France in the yellow category of countries; Therefore, citizens of these two regions are required to follow entry rules, such as test requirements, when planning to head to the Scandinavian country.

Besides both countries mentioned above, travelers from the following regions of Greece must also follow entry requirements when entering Denmark:

Greece: Central Macedonia, Western Macedonia, Ionian Islands, Western Greece, Central Greece, and the Peloponnese.

However, the new rules will not apply to travelers who have been fully vaccinated.

The statement published by the Danish Ministry of Foreign Affairs states that “on return from yellow countries, travelers who have not been fully vaccinated or previously infected are required to take a post-entry test”.

In addition, the ministry encouraged all passengers to take a “polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test instead of a rapid entry test to enhance the detection of delta variant infection in Denmark.”

On the other hand, the Belgian region of Wallonia has been placed on the green list of countries which includes areas considered safe based on their epidemiological status.

Such a decision means that Wallonia citizens will be allowed to enter Denmark without having to follow testing and quarantine rules upon arrival, reports.

In addition, the Danish Ministry of Foreign Affairs revealed through the statement that the following regions of France are now also included in the green list: Center-Val-de-Loire, Burgundy-Franche-Comte, Normandy, Hauts-de-France, Grand Est. , Pays de la Loire, Brittany, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes.

Finland previously announced that it will open its doors to fully vaccinated passengers who present a valid and licensed COVID-19 vaccine passport upon arrival on July 26.

However, the authorities in Denmark are urging their citizens not to travel to Finland for non-essential purposes in order to prevent an increase in the number of infections.

The statement explains: “We continue to advise against non-essential travel to Finland (in shaded orange) due to significant entry restrictions for other groups of travelers, which may make it difficult or impossible to complete a holiday.”

Last week, Denmark announced that it had moved Greece from the green category to the yellow category after estimating the case of COVID-19 on the latter.

According to figures published by the World Health Organization, Denmark has recorded a total of 309,420 cases of the COVID-19 virus since the beginning of the pandemic.

The same source reveals that so far, a total of 2,542 people have died from the virus in Denmark.

The Scandinavian country is the 66th country hardest hit by the coronavirus outbreak.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No