Denmark Has Facilitated Entry Rules Since Monday

As part of the new agreement on the normalization and simplification of COVID-19 travel rules, Danish authorities have revealed that non-vaccinated and non-exempt travelers arriving in the country from EU countries only have to submit one COVID-19 test result, either before departure or within 24 hours on arrival.

This rule also affects Danish citizens and permanent residents of the country, and has been in effect since Monday, October 25. Arrivals from EU countries, the Schengen area, Andorra, Liechtenstein, Monaco, San Marino, Switzerland and Vatican City are also subject to this change, reports.

Furthermore, all travelers from the following countries, which are members of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), are also allowed to enter the country by submitting only a test result prior to arrival or upon arrival:

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States.

At present, the Danish authorities have divided the third countries into two categories; High-risk and high-risk countries.

Unvaccinated and non-exempt travelers from high-risk countries are allowed to enter Denmark by submitting a negative test on arrival. The category includes the following countries:

Australia Bahrain Canada Chile UAE Jordan Kuwait New Zealand Qatar Rwanda Saudi Arabia Singapore South Korea Ukraine Uruguay Hong Kong Macau Taiwan

All other countries not on any of the above lists (European Union, Schengen Area, OECD, or countries at risk lists) are considered high-risk countries.

Unvaccinated and non-exempt entrants from high-risk countries should follow the rules listed below:

Get tested for COVID-19 within 24 hours of arrival in Denmark, regardless of providing pre-departure testing, ten-day quarantine on arrival, with the opportunity to end isolation by taking a test on the fourth day

Permanent residents and citizens of EU, Schengen or OECD countries who can provide a refund certificate or proof of vaccination through the EU COVID-19 Digital Certificate (EUDCC) or any other equivalent platform are exempt from testing and quarantine requirements.

>> Travel: Denmark only accepts EMA-approved COVID-19 vaccines as valid proof of immunity

Furthermore, holders of the EUDCC-equivalent vaccination certificate, which includes citizens of Albania, Israel, Morocco, North Macedonia, Panama, Turkey and Ukraine, can enter the Scandinavian country without undergoing testing and quarantine requirements.

The official website also states: “If you have documents for a positive PCR test that took more than 14 days but less than 12 months ago, you can enter Denmark without testing or self-isolation.”

However, for those with a recovery certificate, if they stop throughout their trip to Denmark in any danger zone, they are required to be tested and self-isolate upon arrival.

Data from the World Health Organization (WHO) shows that 377,825 positive cases of COVID-19 infection have been registered in Denmark, of which 1,411 were reported in the past 24 hours. Moreover, 2,699 deaths related to this virus have been recorded in the country since the outbreak of the epidemic.

According to the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), about 89.2 percent of the adult population in Denmark has received their first vaccination against COVID-19, while 88 percent have been fully vaccinated.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No