Schengen Visa News

Denmark Ends Post-Arrival Testing Requirement – Other Restrictions to Remain Effective Until End of the Month

The Danish government has announced the end of local restrictions imposed due to the Corona virus, as the country no longer classifies the virus as a socially dangerous disease.

The new rules will come into effect on February 1, and according to them, many restrictions such as wearing a face mask and presenting a vaccination certificate for entering recreational facilities and after the curfew will not apply.

In addition, the requirement for travelers to submit to post-arrival testing and undergo mandatory quarantine will also be lifted, reports.

“The Epidemiological Committee has recommended that the strictest requirements for testing before entry into Denmark expire after January 31, but the previous general entry restrictions that were in place before the introduction of the stricter temporary requirements last from February 1 and provisionally until February 28, 2022,” the Ministry of Health press release. Command.

However, some entry requirements will continue to apply, at least until the end of February, as the government sets out new concessional entry rules. For now, it is believed that the requirement to provide pre-departure testing will continue to apply, especially for travelers who have not been vaccinated or previously had COVID-19.

“The government is waiting for an answer on whether the parliamentary parties support it,” Danish Health Minister Magnus Heonick said of the entry requirements laws for travelers.

Currently, Danish authorities impose some of the most complex entry rules for travelers, as there are many country-specific classifications.

Travelers from the European Union who contracted the virus 11 to 180 days prior to travel are exempt from any requirement, while the rest must take a PCR test within 72 hours of departure or 48 hours for rapid antigen test users. The test requirement applies even to travelers who have been fully vaccinated.

A similar rule applies to travelers from countries at risk, except that permanent residents and citizens of Denmark are required to take a test either before or within 24 hours of arrival.

However, arrivals from high-risk countries, including permanent residents and citizens of Denmark, are required to undergo a ten-day isolation and submit a test performed within the time frame as previously mentioned, if they have not previously contracted COVID-19. While vaccinated travelers are exempt Fully quarantined requirements, they are subject to testing requirements.

In other words, unvaccinated, unwell travelers must be tested and quarantined for ten days in Denmark, with the possibility of ending the isolation time by taking a PCR test at least six days after arrival.

Currently, the COVID-19 risk areas, based on Denmark’s country classification, include Bahrain, Chile, Colombia, Indonesia, Kuwait, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, the United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan.

All countries not mentioned within the EU/Schengen countries or countries at risk of COVID-19 fall into the high risk category.

The decision, although it appears positive and reasonable because the country has one of the highest vaccination rates in the European Union – 81.2 per cent of the population is fully vaccinated, and about 3.4 million Danes have received a booster dose, comes as a surprise as the country is experiencing some of the highest infection rates since the emergence of epidemic.

According to data from the World Health Organization (WHO), 291,292 positive cases of COVID-19 and 116 deaths linked to complications from the virus were reported in Denmark in the past week.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No