Schengen Visa News

Czechia to Tighten Entry Rules for Citizens of Poland & Romania

Travelers from Poland and Romania will be required to follow stricter entry rules upon arrival in the Czech Republic as the countries will soon become part of the dark red list.

According to the latest update on the epidemic risk published by the Ministry of Health of the Czech Republic, starting from Monday, January 31, all travelers from Poland and Romania will be required to submit a pre-test for coronavirus.

The requirement to submit a negative test that was taken prior to arrival will apply to everyone, including travelers who have been fully vaccinated and recovered, reports.

However, the ministry clarified that travelers from Poland and Romania, or any other country that is already part of the dark red list, will not be required to undergo pre-entry testing if they have received a booster dose.

“Only foreigners who have been vaccinated with a booster dose have an exception if they were vaccinated in a country whose certificate the Czech Republic recognizes. Another exception is children under the age of 12”, reads the statement of the Ministry of Health.

On the other hand, additional entry rules apply to non-vaccinated and non-exempt travelers from Poland and Romania. Aside from having to submit a pre-entry test, non-exempt and unvaccinated travelers from these two countries must take another test while in the Czech Republic. The test should be carried out after the fifth day of arrival.

“People who are not immunized or people who have not been infected with the COVID-19 virus must subsequently undergo a RT-PCR test between the fifth and seventh day after entering the territory of the Czech Republic and wear a respirator when leaving the place of residence or residence until the result of this test,” the ministry confirmed.

In addition, everyone must fill out an access form. This requirement applies to all arriving passengers, regardless of the country they are traveling from.

Apart from Poland and Romania, the same rules also apply to Andorra, Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Croatia, France, Germany, Hungary, Finland, Malta, Italy, Liechtenstein, Latvia, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Cyprus, Norway, Germany, Hungary, Monaco, Iceland, Ireland, Austria, Romania, Greece, Poland, Estonia, Portugal, , San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland and other countries outside the European Union.

In contrast, more relaxed entry procedures apply to travelers arriving in the Czech Republic from countries included in the Green List. The state of Vatican City is the only country that is currently part of the Czech Republic’s Green List.

Regarding Czech citizens, it has been noted that they do not need to follow the entry rules as long as they hold a vaccination or recovery certificate.

>>EU travel restrictions to stay in place for unvaccinated and non-exhausted people due to high rates of COVID-19 across the bloc

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No