Europe Travel News

Czechia Tightens Entry Requirements for Arrivals from Germany, Madeira, Balearic Islands & San Marino

The country’s authorities have announced that arrivals from Germany, Portugal’s Madeira and Spain’s Balearic Islands will be subject to double-testing and self-isolation requirements upon arrival in the Czech Republic from August 30.

These countries have been added to the red category, which imposes requirements on travelers for PCR or antigen testing before arriving in the Czech Republic. In addition, a quarantine requirement is mandatory, followed by a PCR or other antigen test no later than the fifth day but no later than the 14th day after entering the country, reports.

Entry requirements for entrants to San Marino will also be tightened, as the country has been added to the Czech Republic’s orange list.

The remaining red category countries include:

Andorra Bulgaria Belgium Denmark Ireland Iceland Lithuania Liechtenstein Monaco Estonia France Greece Sweden Switzerland Spain Portugal

The same double-test rule and quarantine requirements apply to several third countries such as Montenegro, Israel, Kosovo, Lebanon, North Macedonia and the United States, which were downgraded last week from the green list to the dark red list, meaning these territories are considered severely affected by the virus. In addition, Cyprus, the United Kingdom, Turkey and Russia also fall into the dark red color category.

On the other hand, for those coming from low-risk countries (green category) and countries with medium risk (orange category), the Czech authorities require an entry form and PCR or antigen testing performed no later than five days on arrival. The orange category in the Czech Republic includes the following regions:

Croatia Luxembourg Latvia Austria Italy Finland Malta Norway Netherlands San Marino Slovenia

However, these rules do not apply to those who present a valid vaccination passport indicating that 14 days have passed since the last shot of the approved COVID vaccine (Moderna, Pfizer, AstraZeneca, Janssen).

The latter category of Czechs consists of countries that have recently reported a high rate of COVID-19 infections, also known as the black category and includes Brazil, Mozambique, Colombia, Nepal, Paraguay, Peru and Tanzania. Arrivals from these states must submit a PCR test that is taken before arriving in the Czech Republic, undergo a ten-day quarantine and be tested on the last day of quarantine.

Those who have been fully vaccinated with one of the vaccines authorized by the European Medicines Agency (EMA) or those who have recovered from the virus in the previous 180 days, coming from black category countries, are exempted from the quarantine requirements.

According to WHO statistics, the Czech Republic has reported six deaths related to COVID-19 and 213 people have been infected with the virus in the past 24 hours. So far, the country has recorded 30,399 deaths and 1,678,544 cases of coronavirus.

Furthermore, the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) reveals that the Czech Republic vaccinated 63 percent of its entire population while 65.4 percent received the first vaccine.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No