Schengen Visa News

Czechia Imposes Testing Requirements for Arrivals From Cyprus, Monaco, Norway & Switzerland

Authorities in the Czech Republic have announced that they have put Cyprus, Norway, Switzerland and Monaco on the list of regions considered severely affected by the coronavirus; Therefore, arrivals from these countries will be subject to the test requirements.

This decision was confirmed by the Czech Ministry of Health and comes after taking into account the epidemiological situation in other countries, following the data provided by the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), reports.

In addition, the same ministry made it clear that Bulgaria, Malta and Italy will move to the red category, which consists of regions considered highly affected by the virus.

The new changes will become effective Monday, December 6.

However, authorities in the Czech Republic have made clear that people who have completed the virus immunization process and have a valid vaccination document will not be required to follow entry requirements such as testing or self-isolation.

Authorities in the Czech Republic continue to classify other regions into several categories, such as green, orange, red and dark red, taking into account their COVID-19 status.

The green list includes countries considered safe in terms of COVID-19 status. It currently includes only the state of Vatican City, from European territory.

For countries outside Europe, the Czech Green List consists of the following countries: Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Chile, Indonesia, Colombia, Korea, Canada, Qatar, Kuwait, Macau, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, Peru, United Arab Emirates, Rwanda or Uruguay or Taiwan.

Countries with an average risk of infection in terms of COVID-19 and its new strains are included in the orange category in the Czech Republic.

For the red category, which consists of regions that have recently reported high rates of COVID-19, it includes the following countries: Bulgaria, Finland, France and Portugal, incl. Azores, Madeira, Romania, Malta, Italy, Sweden and Spain incl. Canary and Balearic Islands.

Meanwhile, authorities in the Czech Republic have placed the following regions in the dark red category after confirming that they were severely affected by the virus over the past two weeks:

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Croatia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Latvia, Hungary, Netherlands, Cyprus, Norway, Monaco, Ireland, Iceland, Greece, Austria, Lithuania, Poland, San Marino, Estonia, Slovakia, Switzerland, Slovenia, as well as Other countries outside the European Union.

The Czech Ministry of Health clarified that the same rules apply to people returning from countries included in the red category as those returning from the dark red category.

The ministry stressed that all persons must fill out the arrival form upon return from other countries.

“When returning from countries with green, orange, red and dark red categories, it is necessary to fill in the arrival form,” the statement read.

Besides the above requirements, red and dark red entrants will be required to undergo a PCR or antigen test before arriving in the Czech Republic if they are using public transportation to return.

Arrivals of the red and dark red categories are also obliged to take a PCR test between the 5th and 14th days when they arrive.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No