Schengen Visa News

Czechia Imposes Testing & Quarantine Rules for Arrivals From Netherlands & Spain

Citizens of the Netherlands and Spain, including the Balearic Islands, will be subject to testing and quarantine rules when wanting to enter the Czech Republic, as the latter’s government has included both regions in the list of countries severely affected by the coronavirus.

According to the statement published by the Czech Ministry of Health, such a decision will take effect on July 26 and was made after estimating the data provided by the European Center for Disease and Control, reports.

In addition, the ministry revealed that citizens of Ireland, Monaco and Greece will also have to follow the rules of testing and quarantine upon arrival in the Czech Republic as these countries have been placed on the red list, which consists of countries severely affected by the virus.

However, fully vaccinated travelers who have recovered from the disease and are planning to enter Czech Republic from the above-mentioned or other countries are exempt from the testing and self-isolation rules.

Currently, the following countries are included in the green category, which means that these lands have recently reported low rates of COVID-19 infection; Therefore, their citizens are allowed to enter the Czech Republic without restrictions: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Iceland, Montenegro, Italy, Latvia, Kosovo, Lithuania, Germany and Hungary.

Other countries like Norway, Poland, Austria, San Marino, North Macedonia, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Serbia, Sweden, Switzerland and Vatican City State also belong to the Green List.

The following non-European regions are also included in the green list: Australia, Israel, Japan, Korea, Hong Kong, Canada, Macau, Lebanon, New Zealand, USA, Singapore, Thailand, or Taiwan.

According to the Czech Ministry of Health, the following countries belong to the orange list, which consists of medium-risk countries. Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Liechtenstein, and Madeira.

All travelers arriving in the Czech Republic from countries included in the green or orange category must undergo a COVID-19 test before entering the Central European country or no later than five days after arrival.

As for the red list, which consists of countries that are severely affected by the virus, it currently includes the following territories: Andorra, Ireland, Malta, Monaco, Greece, Luxembourg, Canary Islands, Portugal, Azores.

Countries not mentioned in any of the above categories fall under the dark red list, which includes areas severely affected by the virus.

All arrivals from the states included in the red and dark red category must complete an arrival form and take a test before entering the Czech Republic if using public transportation to get there.

Previously, the authorities in the Czech Republic placed the Netherlands, the Azores, Luxembourg, Cyprus, Andorra and Malta in the red category.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No