Schengen Visa News

Czechia Imposes Stricter Entry Rules for Citizens of Bulgaria, Hungary, Austria & Germany

Non-vaccinated and non-exempt citizens of Bulgaria, Hungary, Austria and Germany will be subject to testing requirements when planning travel to the Czech Republic, as the latter’s government has placed these areas in a dark red category after confirming they had recorded high rates of COVID-19 infections in the past two weeks.

The new changes introduced by the Czech Ministry of Health after taking into account data provided by the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) will become effective on Monday, January 17.

In addition, the same ministry has confirmed that Romania will now be part of the red list, which consists of countries severely affected by the spread of the coronavirus, reports.

Data provided by the World Health Organization (WHO) shows that more than 2,573,900 cases of COVID-19 infection have been recorded in the Czech Republic since the beginning of the epidemic. In addition, more than 36,700 people have lost their lives to the virus during the same period.

These numbers and Omicron’s rapidly changing deployment of authorities in the Czech Republic have led to stricter entry rules for arrivals from other countries.

In addition, the Czech government continues to classify other regions into green, orange, red and dark red groups, taking into account the epidemiological situation in them.

Currently, the green list, consisting of countries with low rates of COVID-19 infection and therefore considered safe, includes only the Vatican City state, the Ministry of Health confirmed.

For non-EU countries, the following areas belong to the Czech safe list, which means that arrivals from these countries are exempt from testing and quarantine requirements upon entry:

Bahrain, Chile, Indonesia, Colombia, Korea, Qatar, Kuwait, Macau, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, Peru, United Arab Emirates, Rwanda, Eastern Uruguay and Taiwan.

The medium risk list, which consists of regions that pose an average risk in terms of the coronavirus situation, is currently empty, as no country falls into this group.

Poland and Romania belong to the red list, which means that arrivals from these lands will undergo a testing process upon entering the Czech Republic.

Besides, the following countries are also part of the Red List of the Czech Republic:

Andorra, Bulgaria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Croatia, Germany, Finland, Hungary, Malta, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Cyprus, Netherlands, Norway, Hungary, Germany, Monaco, Ireland, Iceland, Austria, Estonia, Greece and Lithuania Portugal including Madeira, Azores and San Marino, Slovenia, Slovakia, Sweden, Spain including the Balearic and Canary Islands, as well as Switzerland and other countries outside the European Union.

Authorities in the Czech Republic previously confirmed that arrivals from red and dark red list countries are obligated to follow the same entry requirements. In addition, they also have to fill out an arrival form before returning to this country.

But the Ministry of Health stressed that not all people who have been vaccinated against the virus are subject to entry requirements.

“The test conditions upon return from abroad do not apply to Czech citizens and foreigners with a residence permit who have completed vaccinations or contracted covid-19 within the past 180 days. All they have to do is fill out the arrival form. Regardless of the country category,” the statement confirms.

Earlier this month, the Czech Ministry of Health announced that stricter entry rules would apply to arrivals from Latvia, Finland and the Azores.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No