Schengen Visa News

Czechia Allows Its Nationals Vaccinated in Third Countries to Apply for EU COVID-19 Vaccination Passport

The Czech Ministry of Health has announced that Czech citizens who have been vaccinated in any third country are now eligible to apply for the EU COVID-19 Digital Vaccination Passport.

According to a press release from the foundation, Czech citizens who have been vaccinated with one of the vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA) such as Moderna, Johnson & Johnson, AstraZeneca and Pfizer are allowed to apply for the document aimed at facilitating travel within the block, SchengenVisaInfo reports .com.

“We want to provide Czech citizens who have been vaccinated in third countries with one of the four vaccines that are also available in the European Union, the same benefits that vaccination brings them in the country,” Health Minister Adam Wojciech noted.

He also said that people coming from third countries who have or will visit a healthcare provider will have their information shared electronically in the Communicable Disease Information System; Therefore, one EU certificate will be issued for the vaccine.

The criteria for an applicant to obtain such a document is to provide proof of vaccination certificate issued in a third country in English by the medical authorities.

The certificate should also include information on the holder’s vaccination, such as the type of vaccination given, the date of vaccination, and information about the certificate issuer, which should be able to be verified remotely.

If the document is not verifiable, any document that proves its legitimacy is required, such as a medical report that includes a contact of the facility where the vaccination was done.

Besides being vaccinated with one of the EMA approved vaccines, the applicant must be a citizen of the Czech Republic or a family member of someone who has a temporary or permanent residence permit in the Czech Republic.

As previously reported by, the country has extended the validity of COVID-19 recovery certificates from 90 to 180 days, allowing travelers with such documents to be exempt from quarantine entry restrictions for a longer period. These changes were approved at an extraordinary meeting called by the Czech government on May 21.

Recently, the state updated the list of epidemiologically safe countries, according to which the state grants entry permission without quarantine requirement to Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Canada, Kosovo and Latvia, along with the majority of EU member states.

However, Portugal, Cyprus and the Spanish Balearic Islands are now considered high-risk countries due to the high rates of COVID-19 virus infection.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No