Schengen Visa News

Cyrus Removes Malta From Safe Travel List

Stricter entry requirements will apply to arrivals from Malta, starting December 9, as the country is added to the high risk category, after an increase in positive cases with COVID-19.

According to the weekly risk assessment published by the Cyprus Ministry of the Interior, unvaccinated and non-exempt travelers arriving from Malta are required to submit a PCR test result 72 hours prior to departure and undergo another test upon arrival, while in isolation until the test result is released, reports.

These measures apply to all countries in the red category, which currently consists of:

EU member states: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Czech Republic, Finland EU Small Countries: Andorra, Monaco, Vatican, San Marino Schengen Area: Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway Third Countries: Egypt, Armenia, Georgia, USA, UK, Jordan, Belarus, Lebanon , South Korea, Oman, Ukraine, Peru, Russia, Serbia

On the other hand, Orange Class entrants must follow more moderate entry requirements, such as submitting a PCR test 72 hours before arriving in Cyprus. The orange category, which represents countries with potentially lower risk but with a greater degree of uncertainty than the green category, includes:

EU Member States: Greece Third Countries: Argentina, Australia, Japan, Israel, Canada, Qatar, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Colombia, Namibia, New Zealand, Uruguay, Rwanda and Chile

Finally, the green category, from which arrivals are exempt from quarantine and testing requirements, does not currently include any EU member state. However, the third country travelers allowed to enter Cyprus are the United Arab Emirates, Indonesia, Kuwait, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia.

Moreover, in an effort to reduce the spread of Omicron, the new strain of COVID-19, the Cypriot authorities have banned all travelers who have resided in or transited through South Africa, Lesotho, Kingdom of Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Malawi in the last 14 days. and Botswana.

During full vaccination, those with previous COVID-19 infection and EU COVID-19 digital certificate holders can enter the country that is exempt from quarantine and testing requirements. All arrivals are required to apply for a Cyprus Flight Permit 48 hours prior to departure.

According to data from the World Health Organization (WHO), 3,558 positive cases and seven deaths due to COVID-19 have been reported in Cyprus during the past seven days. In conclusion, 136,832 cases and 601 deaths have been recorded in the country since the outbreak of the epidemic.

The relatively low infection rates in the country are caused by the vaccination campaign, as the country has a high vaccination rate; 70.2 percent of the population is partially immune, and 67.7 percent is fully immune to the virus, about 1.3 percent more than the average fully vaccinated EU/EEA population. In addition, 14.5 percent of Cyprus residents have received their third COVID vaccine.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No