Schengen Visa News

Cyprus Updates Entry Rules – Unvaccinated EU Citizens Remain Subject to Double-Testing Requirement

The authorities have announced that non-immune travelers from the red category, which includes the majority of EU member states, are required to undergo a double test in order to enter Cyprus.

More specifically, these travelers must submit a PCR test 72 hours prior to arrival or an antigen test performed 24 hours prior to travel to Cyprus and undergo a self-purchased post-arrival test at the airport. The measure applies to all unvaccinated arrivals over the age of 12, reports.

The red category of countries consists of:

EU: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Denmark, Greece, Estonia, Ireland, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden The Czech Republic and Finland

Small states: San Marino, Andorra, Monaco and Vatican City

Schengen Area: Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway

The third countries: Egypt, Argentina, Indonesia, Jordan, Israel, Canada, Armenia, Australia, Georgia, USA, UK, Japan, Colombia, Kuwait, Belarus, Lebanon, Bahrain, New Zealand, South Korea, Oman, Ukraine, Uruguay and Peru Russia, Serbia and Chile

>> Cyprus introduces new epidemiological classification for travel countries

The gray category, which includes arrivals from third countries, must have special permission to enter Cyprus.

Passengers arriving in the Republic of Cyprus from Gray Countries (Special Permit) must remain in mandatory self-isolation for ten days or mandatory self-isolation for seven days, provided they retake the PCR test for COVID-19 on the seventh day of the Interior Ministry explains Cypriots declare that self-isolation at their own expense and the results of the mentioned test are negative, and they report the result of the laboratory test via the online platform of Cyprus Flight Pass to the Republic of Cyprus when the latter requests it.” In a press release.

Furthermore, a limited number of gray-class travelers are allowed to enter the country, including Cypriot citizens, residents and their family members, persons allowed to enter the Republic under the Vienna Convention, and citizens of the European Union.

On the other hand, green non-immunized arrivals are required to submit a pre-departure test, which can be a PCR test performed 72 hours prior to arrival or an antigen test 24 hours prior to arrival in Cyprus.

Countries in the green category, which represent low-risk countries in the current situation, include the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, China, Hong Kong, Macau, Rwanda and Saudi Arabia.

In addition, Cyprus has decided to extend the existing measures until March 31, while changes to the law include lifting the ban on overnight stays for tenants, who, from March 21, are required to submit an antigen test taken on the same day. In addition, by following the guidelines of the Ministry of Health Agency.

As of March 21, 2022, a ‘survival test’ scale has been implemented in kindergartens, preschools and special schools for children aged three years and over. In particular, children who are in close contact with a confirmed positive case, will be able to visit the designated sites Previously announced by the Ministry of Health to conduct a rapid antigen test on the third, fifth and seventh day after contact. On the remaining days (first, second, fourth and sixth), parents should self-test their children,” the press release stated.

The Cyprus Ministry of Interior states that all travelers, regardless of vaccination or country of origin, are required to submit a Passenger Locator Form (PLF) within 48 hours of departure, while vaccinated passengers, regardless of country of origin, are allowed to travel to Cyprus.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No