Europe Travel News

Cyprus Removes Germany & Hungary From Its Epidemiologically Safe-Countries List

Authorities in Cyprus removed Germany and Hungary from the list of countries considered epidemiologically safe after estimating that these regions had recently reported an increase in the number of COVID-19 infections.

As confirmed by the Cyprus Ministry of Health, such a decision means that travelers from both the above-mentioned regions will not be allowed to enter Cyprus without being subject to additional requirements such as testing or quarantine rules, reports

At present, the green list of Cyprus consists of the following countries:

EU member states: Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Czech Republic. Third countries: Australia, Jordan, New Zealand, Singapore

Germany and Hungary are placed in the orange list, which includes countries with medium risk, meaning that travelers from both countries will be required to submit a negative PCR test result, no older than 72 hours, upon arrival in Cyprus.

Besides Germany and Hungary, the Cyprus orange also includes the following countries;

EU member states: Austria, Germany, Greece, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Luxembourg, Slovenia and Finland. Bahrain, Saudi Arabia

Besides the green and orange category, other countries that have recently reported a large number of COVID-19 infections are placed in another category, known as the red category.

Travelers from other Red List countries wishing to enter Cyprus will be required to undergo a dual test requirement, which means they must submit a negative COVID-19 PCR test result before they arrive in Cyprus and take another test after their arrival.

At present, the red category consists of the following countries;

EU Member States: Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Spain, Lithuania, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Sweden Small Countries: Andorra, Monaco, San Marino Schengen Member: Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein Third Countries: Azerbaijan , Egypt, Albania, Armenia, North Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, United Arab Emirates, USA, United Kingdom, Japan, Israel, Kuwait, Belarus, Lebanon, Montenegro, Moldova, Brunei, South Korea, Ukraine, Russia, Serbia

Last week, the Cypriot government put Spain, Belgium, Lithuania, Sweden and Serbia on the red list, forcing all travelers from these countries to undergo a double-test process to enter the country.

According to figures provided by the World Health Organization, a total of 111,140 people in Cyprus have tested positive for coronavirus so far.

The same source reveals that the virus has caused the death of more than 470 people in Cyprus.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No