Europe Travel News

Cyprus Removes All EU Member States From Its Green Travel List Due to Increasing COVID-19 Rates

As infection rates of the COVID-19 virus are on the rise across the 27-nation bloc, Cypriot authorities have ended unrestricted entry for all unvaccinated and non-exempt European citizens.

According to the latest risk assessment published by the Cyprus Ministry of the Interior, Malta, the last country of the permanent green category has been removed from it, which means that currently, no EU member state has been placed on the green travel list in Cyprus, reports.

The green category, which exempts entrants from entry restrictions, consists of the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia.

All travelers who have been fully vaccinated against COVID-19, have recovered from illness or are holders of an EU COVID-19 Digital Certificate – or other equivalent documents are exempt from entry restrictions. Vaccines recognized as valid by the Cypriot authorities include all EMA approved vaccines such as Pfizer/BioNTech, AstraZeneca, Moderna, Janssen and others such as Sputnik V, Sinopharm (BBIBP COVID-19) and Sinovac.

“It is also noted that all passengers, regardless of country class, including those who hold a valid certificate of vaccination, are obliged to apply for the Cypriot passport within 48 hours before leaving their flight,” the authorities explained.

Furthermore, Andorra was added to the red category. Together with the citizens of Peru, the unprotected and non-refundable Andorrans have to follow these rules in order to be allowed into Cyprus:

Offer PCR testing 72 hours prior to arrival and isolate yourself until further testing on arrival

The red category consists of:

EU member states: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Czech Republic, Finland Minor countries: Andorra , San Marino Schengen area: Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway Third countries: Egypt, Armenia, Georgia, USA, UK, Jordan, Israel, Belarus, Lebanon, Oman, Ukraine, Russia, Serbia, Singapore

On the other hand, Argentina, Israel, Canada, Colombia and Namibia are added to the orange category which includes the following countries:

EU member states: France, Greece, Spain, Italy, Malta, Portugal. Zealand, South Korea, Uruguay, Rwanda, Chile

Orange category entrants are required to present a certificate of the PCR test that was taken 72 hours before entering Cyprus.

World Health Organization (WHO) data shows that in the past 24 hours, 206 positive cases were reported in Cyprus, bringing the total infection rates since the start of the epidemic to 127,684.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No