Europe Travel News

Cyprus Moves Spain, Italy, Portugal & Vatican City to High-Risk List

Non-vaccinated and non-exempt travelers from Spain, Italy, Portugal and Vatican City State are now subject to double testing requirements upon arrival in Cyprus as countries have been added to the red category.

However, the authorities have clarified that this procedure does not apply to those who demonstrate complete vaccination or recovery from the virus by submitting an EU digital COVID-19 certificate or other equivalent document.

Except for the above countries, the red category for Cyprus also includes:

EU member states: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Hungary, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Czech Republic, Finland Minor countries: Andorra, Monaco , San Marino Schengen Area countries: Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway Non-EU countries: Egypt, Armenia, Georgia, USA, UK, Jordan, Belarus, Lebanon, South Korea, Oman, Ukraine, Peru, Russia, Serbia

Based on the current entry rules applied by Cyprus, travelers from red-listed countries are required to take a COVID-19 test within 72 hours prior to departure and undergo another test once they arrive in Cyprus. Until the test result comes out, everyone will have to stay in self-isolation.

Compared to the previous assessment published last week, by this week’s assessment of the epidemiological situation of COVID-19, Indonesia has been added to the green list.

Travelers from Indonesia can now travel to Cyprus without undergoing testing or quarantine requirements, reports.

The authorities emphasized that, “It is noted that passengers coming from green category countries are not required to carry a COVID-19 test certificate or self-isolate.”

The same rules apply to travelers from the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia. Besides Singapore, these are the only countries that are currently part of Cyprus’ green list as all EU/Schengen area countries were previously removed due to increased rates of COVID-19 infection.

For the orange category, this week’s assessment shows that only two EU member states and several third countries are part of this list:

EU Member States: Greece, Malta Third Countries: Argentina, Australia, Japan, Israel, Canada, Qatar, China (including Macau and Hong Kong), Colombia, Namibia, New Zealand, Uruguay, Chile

Travelers from one of these orange-listed countries are required to submit a PCR test that will be taken within 72 hours prior to entry.

The authorities explained: “Passengers coming from the orange category countries must undergo a PCR laboratory test within 72 hours before departure and obtain a certificate showing a negative PCR result.”

>> EU countries tighten travel restrictions as Omicron variant detected in several member states

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No