Schengen Visa News

Cyprus Lifts Testing & Quarantine Requirement for Germany & Italy While Spain Remains on Red Category

The Cypriot authorities have published the updated list of countries affected by the pandemic, which became effective yesterday, June 21.

According to the list based on the traffic light system, authorities have put Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Germany, Italy, Finland and Slovakia on the green list after these countries reported low rates of COVID-19 infection in recent weeks, according to SchengenVisaInfo. com reports.

“It is noted that passengers from green category countries are not required to obtain a COVID-19 test certificate or self-isolate,” authorities highlighted.

Except for the countries listed above and those in the previous assessment, the green list also includes the following countries:

EU Member States: Malta, Poland, Romania, Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Germany, Italy, Finland, Slovakia Schengen Area Countries: Iceland, Norway Third Countries: Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Israel

On the other hand, all travelers coming from the orange list countries to Cyprus are required to submit a negative coronavirus test result upon entering the country, which must be no more than 72 hours old at the time of departure.

According to the updated list, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, France, Greece, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovenia and Sweden are now considered a medium epidemic risk, and travelers from these countries are now allowed to enter Cyprus by submitting a negative test only.

The orange list includes countries, as the following list shows:

EU member states: Portugal, Ireland, Luxembourg, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, France, Greece, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovenia and Sweden. The third countries: China (including Hong Kong and Macao), the United Kingdom, the United States, America and Japan

As for the red list of countries, the only remaining EU countries are Spain and the Netherlands, while the third countries added to this list are as the following list shows:

EU Member States: Spain and the Netherlands Small Countries: Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City, San Marino Schengen Countries of the Region: Switzerland and Liechtenstein Third Countries: Rwanda, Russia, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt, Belarus, Qatar, Serbia, Thailand, Armenia, Georgia, Bahrain, Kuwait, Canada, Taiwan, Albania, North Macedonia

Travelers arriving from these countries are subject to a dual test requirement, which means they must submit a negative test result 72 hours before departure to Cyprus and take another test upon arrival. Until the test results come back, the traveler should remain in self-isolation.

Countries that are not mentioned in any of the above categories are placed in the gray category. Travel from a gray category country is only permitted for Cypriot citizens and their family members, EU/EEA citizens, and those with Swiss citizenship.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No