Schengen Visa News

Cyprus Introduces New Epidemiological Categorisation of Countries for Travel

The Cypriot government has announced a new epidemiological assessment for countries, introducing only the green, red and gray categories of countries.

The new classification is similar to the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), where the green and yellow categories are included in the green category in Cyprus and the red and dark red categories are included in the category of red Cypriot countries. This measure will go into effect on March 10, reports.

Furthermore, all vaccinated and recovered travelers are allowed to enter Cyprus, regardless of what class they belong to in the country of departure. On the other hand, unvaccinated travelers will still be required to submit a COVID-19 test or undergo quarantine, depending on which category their home country falls into.

>> Travel to Cyprus in March: COVID-19 rules explained

The green category includes third countries such as the United Arab Emirates, China, Rwanda and Saudi Arabia.

While vaccinated travelers retrieved from these countries are exempt from any requirement for testing and quarantine, unvaccinated arrivals over 12 years of age are required to undergo either a PCR test 72 hours prior to arrival or an antigen test 24 hours prior to departure.

The requirement to submit a passenger locator form within 48 hours of departure remains in effect for all travelers, regardless of vaccination status and country of origin.

On the other hand, the red category of countries consists of:

EU member states: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Denmark, Greece, Estonia, Ireland, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Czech Republic and Finland

Small states: Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City, San Marino

Schengen members: Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway

Third countries: Egypt, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Georgia, USA, UK, Japan, Indonesia, Jordan, Israel, Canada, Qatar, Colombia, Kuwait, Belarus, Lebanon, Bahrain, New Zealand, South Korea, Oman, Ukraine Uruguay, Peru, Russia, Serbia, Chile

Unvaccinated passengers of this category are required to have a PCR test 72 hours prior to arrival or an antigen test within 24 hours of departure, as well as a post-arrival PCR test, which will be covered by the passenger.

Passengers arriving in the Republic of Cyprus from Gray Countries (Special Permit) must remain in mandatory self-isolation for ten days or mandatory self-isolation for seven days, provided they retake the PCR test for COVID-19 on the seventh day of self-isolation on Their own expense and said test results are negative, and they report the laboratory test result via the CyprusFlightPass online platform to the Republic of Cyprus when the latter requests it,” reveals the government’s travel advice.

While travelers from gray countries are subject to further restrictions on entry into Cyprus, only the following categories are allowed:

Cypriot nationals and their family members residing in the Republic of Cyprus are allowed to enter the Republic, in line with the Vienna Convention. EU citizens, EEA nationals (Island, Liechtenstein, Norway), and Switzerland nationals.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No