Europe Travel News

Cyprus Imposes Double Testing Requirement for Arrivals From Switzerland, France & US

Cypriot authorities have announced that since August 2, all travelers from Switzerland, France and the United States will undergo a double test.

The decision comes after the three countries were moved from the orange category to the red category since they recorded increased infection rates recently, reports.

Except for the newly added countries, the red category for Cyprus also includes the following countries:

EU member states: Denmark, Ireland, Spain, Malta, the Netherlands, and Portugal. Japan, Belarus, Kuwait, Montenegro, Brunei, Moldova, South Korea, Russia, Ukraine

As such, all people entering Cyprus from one of the red-listed countries must take a PCR test within 72 hours prior to departure and undergo another test upon arrival in Cyprus.

“The cost of the examination will be borne by itself, and in addition, these people must remain in self-isolation until the test result is released,” the government statement said.

In an update this week, Cypriot authorities also revealed that Italy, Lithuania and the Vatican City State had been moved from the green category to the orange category, while Luxembourg had been moved from the red list.

The orange category, representing moderately high-risk countries, also includes:

EU Member States: Belgium, Estonia, Finland, Greece Third Countries: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Israel, Qatar, China (including Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan), Lebanon, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia

Travelers from these countries are required to submit a negative PCR test result taken 72 hours prior to travel to Cyprus.

In contrast, travelers coming from the green category, which includes low-risk countries, are excluded from the testing and self-isolation rules.

This means that arrivals from Liechtenstein will not be required to provide a negative test result as the country has been placed in the green category.

Except for the newly added Liechtenstein to the list, the green category also includes the following countries:

EU Member States: Austria, Bulgaria, Germany, Croatia, Latvia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Czech Republic Schengen Area Countries: Norway Third Countries: Australia, Jordan, North Macedonia, Canada, New Zealand, Serbia, Singapore

According to World Health Organization (WHO) figures, Cyprus has identified 102,223 cases of COVID-19 since the start of the pandemic and recorded 422 deaths.

Previously, reported that Cyprus has tightened entry rules for Denmark and Ireland while relaxing them for those from Israel, Bahrain and Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No