Europe Travel News

Cyprus Finally Lifts Entry Restrictions for Arrivals From Italy

After months of undergoing strict entry rules, travelers from Italy no longer have to undergo any testing or quarantine requirements upon arrival in Cyprus, as Italy has finally been added to the country’s green tier.

Although the green category includes very few countries, Vatican City has also been added to the list of safe countries. Malta also remains on the list, and entrants to it will still be able to travel to Cyprus without quarantine requirements, reports.

However, travelers who have been fully vaccinated with one of the vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA) such as Pfizer, Moderna, AstraZeneca and Janssen as well as Sinovac, Sinopharm and Sputnik V are exempt from the following rules. In addition, those who have recovered from the virus and holders of an EU COVID-19 digital certificate are also offering an exemption.

Furthermore, all travelers arriving in Cypriot territory, regardless of vaccination status, nationality or mode of travel, are required to apply for a Cypriot passport 48 hours before travelling.

The decision comes into effect on Monday, October 18, and, as the risk assessment reveals, entry rules have also been eased for those coming from Monaco, as the country has been removed from the red category and added to the orange category. This means that arrivals in Monaco do not have to quarantine upon arrival; However, they still have to follow the test requirements.

Moreover, the new entry rules announced by the Cypriot authorities are not good news for non-vaccinated and non-received arrivals from Luxembourg, Hungary and Finland, as all three countries have been added to the unsafe travel list or known as the red category. This means that these travelers must undergo quarantine and testing requirements after entering the island.

Passengers traveling to Cyprus from red category countries are required to undergo a PCR test 72 hours prior to arrival in Cyprus and another upon arrival. Moreover, the traveler must remain self-isolated until the result of the second test is released, which must also be purchased by the traveler.

Countries in the red category include:

EU Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Germany, Estonia, Ireland, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland Small Countries: San Marino Schengen Area: Switzerland Third Countries: Egypt, Armenia Georgia, USA, UK, Israel, Canada, Belarus, Lebanon, South Korea, Ukraine, Russia, Serbia, Singapore

Unlike the red category, the orange category travelers only have to submit the PCR test result taken 72 hours before entering Cyprus.

At the same time, the orange category, which includes countries at medium risk in terms of the case of COVID-19, consists of the following countries:

EU Member States: France, Denmark, Greece, Spain, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Czech Republic Small Countries: Andorra, Monaco Schengen Area: Iceland, Norway Third Countries: Australia, Japan, Qatar, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Bahrain, Uruguay, Rwanda, Chile

Travelers from countries in the green category, as noted above, are not required to follow any testing or quarantine requirements, and this category consists of the following countries:

EU Member States: Italy, Malta, Schengen Area: Liechtenstein Small Countries: Vatican Third Countries: Jordan, United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia

World Health Organization (WHO) data shows that Cyprus has reported 121,263 positive cases of COVID-19 since 2020, 126 of which were detected in the past 24 hours.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No