Europe Travel News

Cyprus Ends Restriction-Free Entry for Travellers From Denmark & Two Other EU Member States

Non-vaccinated and non-exempt travelers from Denmark, the Czech Republic and Norway will not be allowed to travel to Cyprus without going into self-isolation on arrival, as countries have been added to the red category.

According to the weekly risk assessment published by the Cypriot Ministry of the Interior, most EU member states are currently being added to the red category, which means that travelers from these countries must be subject to the strictest entry rules of all categories, reports.

However, entry restrictions do not apply to travelers who have been fully vaccinated, have recovered from COVID-19 in the past six months and to all holders of an EU COVID-19 Digital Certificate or other equivalent document.

“They were vaccinated with either one of the vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency (Pfizer/BioNTech, AstraZeneca, Moderna, Janssen), the Sputnik V vaccine, the Sinopharm (BBIBP COVID-19) vaccine, or the Sinovac vaccine,” the authorities explained.

Furthermore, non-immunized and non-exempt travelers from red category countries are required to:

Submit a PCR test performed 72 hours before arrival in Cyprus and a PCR test on arrival while remaining self-isolated until the result is released

The red category currently consists of:

EU member states: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czech Republic, Finland Small countries: San Marino Schengen Region: Switzerland, Iceland, Norway Third countries: Egypt, Armenia, Georgia, USA, UK, Israel, Canada, Belarus, Lebanon, Oman, Ukraine, Russia, Serbia, Singapore

On the other hand, travelers arriving in Cyprus from orange category countries must submit a PCR test 72 hours prior to arrival.

The orange category includes the following countries:

EU Member States: France, Greece, Spain, Portugal and Sweden Small Countries: Andorra and Monaco Schengen Area: Liechtenstein Third Countries: Australia, Japan, Qatar, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Bahrain, South Korea, Uruguay, Rwanda and Chile

Furthermore, green category entrants are exempt from quarantine and testing requirements, and at the moment, these countries include:

EU Member States: Italy, Malta Small Countries: Vatican City Third Countries: United Arab Emirates, Jordan, Kuwait, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia

Data from the World Health Organization (WHO) shows that 112 people were recently infected with COVID-19 in Cyprus, bringing the number of infections recorded in the country since 2020 to 124444. Moreover, the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) showed that 81.5 in Per cent of the country’s adult population is vaccinated with the first injection, while 79.3 per cent are fully vaccinated.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No