Europe Travel News

Cyprus Adds France, Peru & Monaco to Unsafe Travel List

Unvaccinated and non-exempt travelers from France, Peru and Monaco are subject to double testing requirements, with authorities revealing that these countries have been added to the red category.

However, this restriction does not apply to arrivals who have received a full vaccination, recovery or digital EU COVID-19 certificates, reports.

Furthermore, the vaccines approved by the Cypriot authorities for use include Pfizer/BioNTech, AstraZeneca, Moderna, Janssen, Sputnik V, Sinopharm (BBIBP COVID-19) and Sinovac vaccine.

Currently, the red category includes:

EU member states: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Czech Republic, Finland : Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Schengen Zone: Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway Third countries: Egypt, Armenia, Georgia, USA, UK, Jordan, Belarus, Lebanon, Oman, Ukraine, Peru, Russia, Serbia

Entry rules for red category entrants include taking a PCR test 72 hours before departure and undergoing another test upon arrival in Cyprus. In the meantime, the traveler has to remain isolated.

On the other hand, no changes were observed from the previous assessment in the orange category, as no new countries were added to the same category.

Orange Class passengers are required to submit a PCR test 72 hours prior to arrival, which includes the following:

EU Member States: Greece, Spain, Italy, Malta, Portugal Small Countries: Vatican City Third Countries: Argentina, Australia, Japan, Israel, Canada, Qatar, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Colombia, Namibia, New Zealand, South Korea, Uruguay, Rwanda, Chile

The green category, which currently does not include any EU member states and only third countries such as the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia, does not impose any entry requirements for unvaccinated arrivals.

The Cypriot authorities emphasized that “it is also noted that all passengers, regardless of country class, including those with a valid vaccination certificate, are obligated to apply for a Cyprus flight permit within 48 hours prior to the departure of their flight.”

Data from the World Health Organization (WHO) shows that 2,416 positive cases were recorded in Cyprus during the past seven days, bringing the total number of positive cases in the country to 130,100. The total number of reported deaths has also reached 590, two of them within the past 24 hours.

While WHO data shows that the total vaccine doses administered per 100 inhabitants in Cyprus are 133.2 and 66.85 for fully vaccinated people, the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) shows that 68.9 percent of the Cypriot population is partially vaccinated against COVID 19, while 67 percent have been fully immunized.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No