Schengen Visa News

Canadians Vaccinated With CoviShield to Face EU Entry Restrictions As Testing & Quarantine Requirements

Canadians vaccinated with the AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine by Verity Pharmaceuticals and the Serum Institute of India (SII), better known as CoviShield, may face entry restrictions such as quarantine and (dual) testing, despite being added to the EU’s list of safe third Epidemiologically – countries, as this vaccine has not yet been approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA).

The vaccine is not eligible for the EU’s COVID-19 digital vaccination passport, which was launched last week. However, Canada approved CoviShield along with Moderna, Pfizer, AstraZeneca and Johnson & Johnson, and the same was given to approximately 272,042 Canadians, who had already received at least one injection of the vaccine.

Last week, reported that CoviShield has not yet been EMA approved; Therefore, people who have received this vaccine will not be considered immune. Currently, the manufacturer is trying to obtain emergency clearance from the European Union. CEO and owner of CoviShield, Adar Poonawalla, said he is working on the case.

“I am aware that many of the Indians who took Kovishield are having problems traveling to the European Union. I assure everyone, I have taken up this matter at the highest levels and I hope the matter will be resolved soon, both with the regulators and at the diplomatic level with the countries,” CEO Poonawala stated. .

He also said that the vaccine has been approved by the World Health Organization and relevant authorities in the UK, with the hope that the same will happen with the EMA, reports.

COVID-19 vaccine tracking data reveals that the CoviShield vaccine has been approved in 44 countries around the world, as the following list shows:

Afghanistan Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Bhutan Bolivia (Plurinational State of) Botswana Brazil Cabo Verde Canada Côte d’Ivoire Dominica Egypt Ethiopia Ghana Grenada Honduras Hungary India Jamaica Lebanon Maldives Morocco Myanmar Namibia Nepal Nicaragua Nigeria Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Seychelles Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Sri Lanka Suriname Bahamas Togo Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Ukraine

According to EU vaccine regulations, only four vaccines – AstraZeneca, Pfizer, Moderna and Janssen – have been licensed for use by the EMA, while the following vaccines are still under review:

CVnCoV (CureVac) NVX-CoV2373 (Novavax) Sputnik V (Gam-COVID-Vac) COVID-19 Vaccine (Vero Cell) Inactivated (Sinovac)

However, the EU countries that have recognized the vaccine despite EU recommendations are Spain, Estonia, Greece, Slovenia and Iceland. It is also said that Ireland, Germany, Austria and Switzerland have recognized the vaccine, but no official statements have been made by the authorities of these countries so far.

COVID-19 vaccine trackers reveal that 19 vaccines for COVID-19 have been approved; 39 vaccines are in the third phase of testing, 29 in the second, and 35 vaccines are in the first testing phase.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No