Schengen Visa News

Bulgaria Updates COVID-19 Rules – EU Countries Remain in Red Zone

The Bulgarian authorities have reassessed the epidemiological situation of the countries, among which the EU member states remain in the red.

According to a press release issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, in addition to the bloc of 27 countries, the following countries are included in the red zone:

Australia, Jordan, Afghanistan, Cayman Islands, Barbados, Bahrain, North Korea, Costa Rica, Bermuda, Brunei, Bhutan, United Kingdom, Vietnam, Mauritius, Maldives, Gibraltar, Georgia, New Zealand, New Caledonia, Dominica, Isle of Man, Israel and Palau South Korea, Ukraine, Russia, Uruguay, Faroe Islands, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Singapore, French Polynesia, Serbia, Tanzania, Chile, Tonga, Turkey and Japan, reports.

People from these countries are allowed to enter Bulgaria if one of the following documents is available:

A valid EU digital vaccination certificate for COVID-19, indicating that the holder has received a complete vaccination series at least 14 days before travel A take-back certificate, valid for 180 days, negative test certificate, indicating that a PCR test was performed 72 hours before Arrival or antigen testing 48 hours before entering an equivalent document containing the same data as EUDCC

Those who refuse to submit such documents are obliged to undergo a ten-day quarantine.

“A quarantined person may perform a PCR test for COVID-19 or a rapid antigen test for those listed in Annex 2 no later than 72 hours after his/her arrival in the country,” the press release states, noting that the same rule applies. For travelers from Ukraine.

The requirement to provide a certificate of vaccination, recovery or testing applies to green and orange areas.

According to data from the World Health Organization (WHO), Bulgaria has recorded 1,109,581 positive cases of the COVID-19 virus and 30,028 deaths since the beginning of the epidemic. In addition, during the past seven days, 12,283 cases of infection and 312 deaths were reported in the country.

Moreover, the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) reveals that Bulgaria has the lowest number of vaccinated population, with less than 30 percent of the population having received the full initial course of vaccination, followed by other neighboring countries such as Romania (41.8 in cent)). However, the latter recently announced the removal of all restrictions imposed due to COVID-19, including requirements for external border control certification, testing, vaccination and other local restrictions.

In addition, several other EU countries have lifted restrictions on travelers and citizens, including Ireland, Hungary and Norway.

>> Two more EU countries have lifted travel rules for COVID-19 completely

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No