Europe Travel News

Bulgaria Removes Denmark, Italy, Spain & Malta From Its Safe Travel List – Adds Lithuania to Red Category

The Ministry of Bulgaria has updated the list of safe and epidemiologically unsafe countries, which will remain in effect until November 30.

Countries will continue to be categorized by a color coding system, to which different entry rules apply. Compared to the previous risk assessment, Denmark, Italy, Spain and Malta were removed from the green category, reports. On the other hand, Lithuania has been added to the list of red categories, where travelers have to submit to stricter entry rules.

According to the press release, arrivals from red category countries are required to submit a negative PCR test taken 72 hours prior to departure and self-isolate for ten days upon arrival. However, the isolation requirement can end if travelers submit a negative PCR test 24 hours after entering Bulgaria.

This rule applies to travelers from the following countries:

India Bangladesh Nepal Myanmar Bhutan Sri Lanka Maldives South Africa Botswana Tanzania Seychelles Namibia Zambia Oman Malaysia Turkmenistan Tajikistan Kyrgyzstan Mongolia Colombia Chile Uruguay Argentina Brazil Paraguay Bolivia Peru Suriname Panama Costa Rica Guatemala Belize El Salvador Cuba Dominican Republic Cyprus Isso United Kingdom Montenegro Fiji Iran Israel Black Kosovo Kazakhstan USA Saint Lucia Saint Kitts and Nevis Ireland Grenada Serbia Palestine Lithuania

According to the ministry, a country falls into the red category if the infection rate of 100,000 residents in the last 14 days is equal to or greater than 500 or if 4 percent or more of the tests taken during the week are positive.

Countries not on any of the lists are classified in the orange category and follow the same rules as green countries. For passengers arriving in the green and orange category, a pre-departure COVID test within the last 72 hours or a test on arrival is required. However, these rules do not apply to travelers who have been fully vaccinated against COVID, who have recovered from the virus, or EU Digital COVID-19 certificate holders.

Furthermore, coronavirus certificates from North Macedonia, Turkey, Ukraine, San Marino, Vatican City and Switzerland are recognized as EUDCC equivalent.

Countries in the green category in Bulgaria include:

Austria Poland Slovakia Hungary Finland Vatican City Czech Luxembourg Romania Norway

According to the epidemiological situation in Bulgaria, the World Health Organization revealed that 495,397 positive cases were recorded, with only 2536 cases reported in the past 24 hours. In addition, Bulgaria also saw 149 deaths related to COVID-19 in the past 24 hours, bringing the total number of deaths to 20,638.

The country has vaccinated about 23.9 percent of its population with the first injection so far, while 22.7 percent have been fully vaccinated.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No