Schengen Visa News

Bulgaria Introduces Dark Red Category, Adds 23 Countries to It

After the member states of the European Union decided to continue to apply stricter measures to the categories of dark red, the Bulgarian authorities followed suit by introducing the dark red category, which represents the countries most dangerous from an epidemiological point of view.

According to a State Department press release, travelers from dark red countries are required to submit a PCR test that is taken within 72 hours of arrival, as well as a take-back or vaccination certificate certifying that the bearer has been vaccinated with the single syringe. Or vaccinate two doses 270 days before travel to Bulgaria. Travelers who have received the booster vaccine are exempt from pre-departure testing requirements, reports.

These procedures apply to travelers from the following countries, which make up the dark red category:

Afghanistan Bonner Gibraltar Greenland Israel Iceland Andorra Switzerland Belgium Denmark North Korea Maldives Tanzania Palau Portugal San Marino Seychelles Saba Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Eustatius Slovenia Faroe Islands France

Based on this map, member states should implement measures related to travel to and from areas marked in dark red, where the virus is spreading at very high levels. They should, in particular, discourage all non-essential travel and require people arriving from those areas, who do not have a vaccination or recovery certificate to undergo a pre-departure test and post-arrival quarantine,” the Council of the European Union stated on the dark red category.

The rest of the countries are in the red category, for which travelers are required to present a vaccination, recovery or test certificate – provided they take a PCR test 72 hours before departure. If travelers fail to provide such documents, the person must be quarantined for ten days upon arrival in Bulgaria and undergo a PCR test 72 hours after entering the country.

The red category consists of:

EU Member States, United Kingdom, Isle of Man, Anguilla, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, North Macedonia, Serbia, Georgia Asia: Turkmenistan, Mongolia, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Singapore, Kuwait, Qatar, Bahrain, Lebanon, Jordan Africa: Botswana, Guyana, Tunisia, Cape Verde South America: Paraguay, Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados , Belize, Chile, Aruba, Cayman Islands, Curacao, Bolivia, Panama, Costa Rica, Saint Lucia, Uruguay, Suriname, Brazil, Grenada, Ecuador, Argentina North America: USA, Bahamas, Cayman Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands, Bermuda, Canada , British Virgin Islands, Montserrat, Jamaica Oceania: Australia and New Caledonia

No country is included in the green category in Bulgaria, while countries not on the red or dark red lists are part of the orange category.

According to the data of the World Health Organization (WHO), 61,586 positive cases of COVID-19 and 496 deaths were recorded in Bulgaria during the past seven days.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No