Europe Travel News

Bulgaria Imposes Tighter Entry Rules for Majority of EU Amid Concerns of New Virus Variant

Bulgarian authorities have revealed that the majority of EU member states have been added to the category of high-risk or red countries, in an effort to prevent further spread of the COVID-19 virus, which over the past seven days has affected more. More than 15,626 people are in Bulgaria.

According to the Department of Foreign Affairs, the red category includes all EU member states and the UK, except for Vatican City, Spain, Malta and Sweden, which are placed in the green category and moderate entry rules apply to arrivals from these countries, reports.

Although, as a rule, travel from red category countries to Bulgaria is not allowed, those coming from EU member states can enter the country by presenting a valid PCR test 72 hours before arrival, recovery or a full certificate of vaccination.

Furthermore, the only persons allowed to enter Bulgaria from Mozambique, Botswana, South Africa, Lesotho, Eswatini, Namibia and Zimbabwe are Bulgarian citizens or those with permanent residence in the country. This category of arrivals is required to undergo a ten-day quarantine and take a PCR test on the tenth or twelfth day of their stay.

In contrast, green category arrivals can enter the country by presenting a PCR or antigen test result 72 to 48 hours before arrival, or a certificate of recovery or vaccination. If travelers fail to present any of these documents, they must undergo a ten-day quarantine upon arrival.

The red countries of the Asian continent include Bangladesh, Myanmar, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Oman, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, Afghanistan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Mongolia, South Korea, Singapore and Brunei. Africa: Maldives, South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Tanzania, and Seychelles. South America: Chile, Uruguay, Brazil, Paraguay, Bolivia, Suriname, Panama, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Belize, El Salvador, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Trinidad and Tobago. Oceania: Fiji. North America: Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Grenada and Barbados.

>> Bulgaria Adds Ireland, Germany and 12 Other EU/Schengen Countries to Red List of COVID-19 Travel Restrictions

Moreover, the orange category includes all countries that are not mentioned in any of the previous lists, and those coming from these countries are required to present a certificate of recovery or vaccination to enter the country. In addition, a negative PCR test 72 hours prior to arrival or an antigen test 48 hours prior to departure is required for those who fail to provide recovery or vaccination certificates.

Effective November 28, 2021, a travel ban will be imposed on passengers arriving from the Republic of Mozambique, the Republic of Botswana, the Republic of South Africa, the Kingdom of Lesotho, the Kingdom of Eswatini, the Republic of Namibia, the Republic of Zimbabwe,” the authority indicated in relation to the new COVID-19 variant, the emerging Omicron.

Moreover, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs indicated that Bulgarian citizens, residence holders and their families are excluded from this decision.

Data from the World Health Organization (WHO) shows that 818 people died due to the involvement of COVID-19 in the country during the past seven days, bringing the death toll to 28,325. In addition, the total number of cases in Bulgaria since the outbreak of the epidemic has reached 692,376. The country has one of the lowest vaccination rates in the European Union; About 25.4 percent of the population has been fully vaccinated, which is 40.8 percent below the average for fully vaccinated people in EU/EEA countries.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No