Europe Travel News

Bulgaria Imposes Quarantine Requirement for Unvaccinated Travellers from UK & 52 Other Third Countries

The Bulgarian Ministry of Health published the latest risk assessment regarding the coronavirus, classifying countries into three categories (red, green and orange) depending on their infection rate over the past two weeks.

However, regardless of the country of origin, travelers who have previously been vaccinated, have recovered from the virus, and those who have tested negative for COVID-19 in the last hours, are allowed to enter Bulgaria without quarantine and testing requirements. The same rule applies to all holders of COVID-19 digital certificates in the European Union.

According to a press release from the Bulgarian authorities, travelers arriving in Bulgaria from the red zone countries must submit a negative PCR test that is taken 72 hours before arrival and undergo a ten-day quarantine at their home or other place of residence, reports.

“In these cases, the director of the relevant regional health inspectorate may cancel the order on quarantine of such persons, upon submission by e-mail of a document showing a negative result.

From the polymerase chain reaction test conducted within 24 hours of entering the country

to prove COVID-19,” the press release explains.

Furthermore, the traveler can finish the quarantine requirement within 24 hours after submitting a negative test result.

Countries included in the red zone in Bulgaria, whose travelers are required to follow the above requirements, include:

Cyprus UK Fiji Georgia Israel Eswatini Iran North Macedonia Montenegro Kosovo Kazakhstan USA Saint Lucia Kitts and Nevis Ireland Grenada Serbia Palestine India Bangladesh Nepal Myanmar Bhutan Sri Lanka Maldives South Africa Botswana Tanzania Seychelles Namibia Zambia Oman Malaysia Turkmenistan Tajikistan Kyrgyzstan Mongolia Colombia Argentina Chile or Brazil Paraguay Bolivia Peru Suriname Panama Costa Rica Guatemala Belize El Salvador Cuba Dominican Republic

Bulgarian health authorities have qualified these countries in the red category, based on the following criteria:

The 14-day infection rate per 100,000 population is greater than or equal to 500 per 100,000 population There has been insufficient information about the country due to infrequent updating of information, or the survey level is less than 300 samples per 100,000 population The country has reported cases with other variants of SARS- CoV-2, and the rules imposed depend on the size and level of transmission of the coronavirus

Moreover, the countries on the green list of Bulgaria, which in the past 14 days have reported between 75 and 200 positive cases per 100,000 population or that the positivity of tests is equal to or less than four percent, including the following:

Austria Poland Slovakia Hungary Finland Norway Vatican City Czech Republic Luxembourg Romania Denmark Italy Spain Malta

Travelers from these countries are exempt from quarantine requirements and can only enter Bulgaria by submitting a test that is taken 72 hours before arrival. If travelers cannot meet these criteria, they can undergo a PCR test upon arrival and must remain in quarantine until the test result is released.

Furthermore, countries not mentioned in either of the above two lists are placed in the orange category, and similar rules are applied to the green category for travelers from these countries.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No