Europe Travel News

Bulgaria Extends Current Entry Restrictions Until March 31

Amid the increase in Omicron infection rates, Bulgarian authorities have again warned that travelers from member states and the UK who are in the red category must present a vaccination or recovery certificate, as well as a negative PCR test result, which is performed within 72 hours of departure to enter Bulgaria, reports.

“Persons covered by clause 4.3. are allowed in the territory of the state upon presentation of a valid EU digital COVID certificate for vaccination, recovery or similar document, together with a negative result from a test performed up to 72 hours before entering the state examination by the polymerase chain reaction method. for COVID-19,” explains the press release from the Bulgarian Ministry of Health, with clause 4.3. Including EU and UK nationals and their family members.

The same also indicates that Bulgarian citizens or permanent residents are required to present one of the required health certificates (vaccination, recovery or PCR test) in order to be allowed to enter their home country or country of residence. If they fail to provide such a document, they must undergo a ten-day quarantine – with the possibility of reducing the isolation time if the PCR test taken three days after arrival is negative.

Unlike many EU member states that have abolished their color-coding systems, the Bulgarian government continues to implement this practice, and from January 20, when this order comes into effect, until March 31, arrivals from the red zone are required to provide vaccination, a refund, or Test certificate, in order to enter the country. A negative test result must be a PCR test taken within three days of departure.

Countries in the red category in Bulgaria include:

EU Member States: (except Vatican City and Romania), United Kingdom, Greenland, Isle of Man, Gibraltar, Georgia and Faroe Islands

Asia: Mongolia, North Korea, Myanmar, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Oman, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, Afghanistan, Kyrgyzstan, Singapore, Brunei, Jordan, Bangladesh

Africa: Mozambique, Tanzania, Namibia, South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Seychelles, Zambia, Cape Verde

South America: Paraguay, Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, Guatemala, Belize, El Salvador, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Chile, Aruba, Cayman Islands, Sint Eustatius, Saba, Bolivia, Panama, Costa Rica, Saint Lucia, Uruguay, Suriname, Brazil, Saint Kitts Nevis, Grenada, Argentina,

North America: USA, Curacao, Bahamas, Cayman Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands, Bermuda, Canada, British Virgin Islands,

Oceania: Fiji and Australia

Moreover, the countries in the Green Zone at the moment are Vatican City and Romania, which means that entrants from these two countries can enter Bulgaria by presenting only one of the previously mentioned documents. The same rule applies to entrants from the orange category, which includes countries not on any of the previous lists.

At present, Bulgaria has one of the lowest vaccination rates in the European Union – about 41 percent below the average uptake of full vaccination in the population of EU member states, which means that only 28.4 percent of the population of seven million people They have been fully vaccinated.

Vaccination rates are reflected in the number of positive cases in the country. According to data from the World Health Organization, 43,426 cases of infection and 575 deaths were recorded in the past week.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No