Europe Travel News

Bulgaria Adds Ireland, Germany & 12 Other EU/Schengen Countries to Red List of COVID-19 Travel Restrictions

Bulgarian authorities have added 14 member states of the European Union and the Schengen area to the red list of countries hard hit by the coronavirus in recent weeks. This means that travelers from these areas to Bulgaria now face additional entry restrictions.

The Bulgarian Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced the decision, and it will come into effect on Tuesday, November 23.

The countries added to the Red List are as follows:

Andorra Austria Belgium Czech Republic Denmark Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Liechtenstein Netherlands Poland Switzerland

The move means that travelers from these 14 countries, as well as from other countries included in the red list, are prohibited from entering the territory of Bulgaria from November 23.

However, Bulgarian citizens and nationals of EU and EEA countries can enter Bulgaria from Red List countries if they hold a valid EU digital COVID-19 certificate proving that they have either been fully vaccinated against COVID-19 or have recently recovered from the virus.

Those who arrive in the country for essential purposes as medical staff, heads of state, members of government in official positions, seasonal agricultural workers, tourism workers, etc., are also allowed to enter the country under the same rules.

Those who do not carry either of the two must submit negative PCR test results. The test must be no more than 72 hours old before arrival in Bulgaria, and must be certified by a valid EU digital COVID certificate for the test or similar document with the same data as the EU digital COVID certificate.

Travelers from the latter category countries are subject to a ten-day quarantine.

Currently, part of the Red List is also Armenia, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Kyrgyzstan and Latvia Lithuania, Maldives, Mongolia, Montenegro, Myanmar, Namibia, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Romania, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay and Zambia.

5 more countries have been added to the orange list

At the same time, Bulgaria added Finland, France, the Principality of Monaco, Portugal and Moldova to the orange list of countries. Previously, the first four were included in the green category, while Moldova was part of the red category.

From 23 November, only travelers who can present a valid EU COVID passport for vaccination, to recover from negative test results in the past 180 days, or from a similar document containing the same data as an EU COVID digital certificate, can enter Bulgaria from these countries.

Bulgarian citizens, residence permit holders and their family members can enter without showing any of the above documents, but they are subject to a ten-day quarantine obligation.

Part of the orange category are all other countries not included in the red and green categories.

Only 7 countries remain part of the green category

While in the green category remain Vatican City-state, Luxembourg, Denmark, Italy, Spain, Malta, Sweden.

All travelers from these countries can enter without restrictions if they present an EU COVID or other equivalent certificate.

Those without such certification are required to self-quarantine for ten days, which can be avoided if travelers test a negative COVID-19 PCR within 24 hours of arriving in the country.

>> Traveling to Bulgaria amid COVID-19 – All you need to know

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No