Europe Travel News

Arrivals From Malta Are Now Subject to Testing Requirement When Reaching Estonia

Non-vaccinated and non-exempt travelers from Malta now need to follow additional entry rules when arriving in Estonia as the latter has moved Malta to the yellow list.

In last week’s update, Malta was part of the green list, which means that travelers from this country are not subject to any restrictions. However, because the COVID-19 situation has worsened in the last 14 days, unvaccinated and non-exhausted travelers are required to get tested for COVID-19.

The test requirement applies only to those who do not hold a valid certificate indicating that its holder tested for COVID-19 before entering Estonia, reports.

“In the absence of a negative test certificate, the test must be taken upon entering the country. For the test result to be known, the person has to self-isolate. The Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs explained that people with a negative test certificate are not required to undergo the test upon entering the country.

For travelers who have completed the immunization process as well as for those with a recovery certificate, Estonian authorities have indicated that they are exempt from testing and quarantine requirements.

Based on figures provided by the World Health Organization (WHO), in the past 24 hours, Malta has reported 66 new cases of COVID-19. Moreover, since the beginning of the epidemic, the country has recorded a total of 38,451 cases.

With the exception of Malta, six other EU countries – Italy, Monaco, Portugal, France, Sweden and Finland – are also part of the yellow list.

Estonian authorities have classified the other countries into green and red lists based on their epidemiological status.

Currently, the Red List, which includes countries severely affected by COVID-19, includes the majority of EU/Schengen area countries.

Estonia’s Red List currently includes all of the following EU/Schengen area countries:

Andorra Austria Belgium Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Netherlands Norway Poland Romania San Marino Slovakia Slovenia Switzerland United Kingdom

Unvaccinated and non-exempt travelers from any of the above countries are required to undergo testing and self-isolation requirements. However, the quarantine period can be terminated early if a negative test is submitted after the sixth day.

In contrast, arrivals from the Vatican State and Spain are not subject to any restrictions regardless of vaccination or recovery status, as the two countries are currently part of the Green List.

Apart from the above countries, travelers from many third green list countries can travel to Estonia for non-essential purposes without having to follow the entry rules. These countries are Argentina, Bahrain, Colombia, Indonesia, Kuwait, Namibia, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Taiwan, South Korea, and the United Arab Emirates.

>> Everything you need to know about traveling to Estonia amid COVID-19

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No