Schengen Visa News

Another 2 EU Countries Have Fully Lifted COVID-19 Travel Rules

After assessing the current situation of COVID-19 and taking into account high vaccination rates, two other EU countries – Ireland and Hungary – decided to lift all COVID-19 restrictions.

Irish authorities announced earlier this week that the country has decided to lift COVID-19 entry rules.

“From 6 March 2022, travelers to Ireland are not required to show evidence of vaccination, proof of recovery or a negative PCR result on arrival. There are no post-arrival testing or quarantine requirements for travelers to Ireland,” the authorities statement said. Irish.

This means all travelers, regardless of whether they are traveling from an EU country or outside the EU, can enter Ireland without having to present a vaccination or recovery certificate or a negative COVID-19 test result, reports.

In addition, travelers arriving in Ireland are now also exempt from the requirement to fill out a passenger locator form prior to their arrival.

Travelers to Ireland are no longer required to complete a COVID-19 Passenger Locator form. Travel companies will no longer require verification of a PLF receipt prior to travel to Ireland, the Irish Department of Health said.

Aside from scrapping entry rules, Ireland has also incorporated the majority of national COVID-19 restrictions in a bid to help several industries, especially the travel and tourism sector, recover from the damage caused by the virus.

Similar to Ireland, Hungarian authorities have revealed that all incoming travelers, even those who have not been vaccinated or have recovered from the virus, are now allowed to enter without having to follow any entry rules.

>> Hungary removes all COVID-19 entry requirements

According to the Hungarian authorities, travelers now only need to follow the pre-pandemic travel rules. This means that people who wish to visit Hungary are only required to present a valid travel document, such as a passport or a valid visa if necessary.

The Hungarian authorities stated that “it is possible to enter the territory of Hungary by public roads, railways, water and air traffic – regardless of nationality and protection against coronavirus”.

Hungary has also scrapped some national COVID-19 rules. Citizens of the state, as well as travelers, are no longer required to present a vaccination, recovery or test certificate upon arrival at bars, restaurants, cafes and other public places.

The requirement to wear face masks indoors has also been abolished.

Apart from the two countries mentioned above, Iceland, Norway and Slovenia have also lifted entry procedures. These three were the first to announce that travelers would be able to enter their territory without having to follow any procedures.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No