Europe Travel News

Americans Urged to Refrain From Travelling to Luxembourg, Netherlands & Another 14 EU Countries Despite US Entry Ban Removal

Although the United States has officially lifted the entry ban on arrivals from 26 countries in the Schengen area, the authorities are still urging their citizens to refrain from traveling to several European territories.

Updating the list of countries to which US citizens are advised to avoid travel, the US State Department has issued “Level Four: Do Not Travel” advice for Luxembourg and the Netherlands.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued a Health Notice for Level 4 travel in Luxembourg due to COVID-19, indicating a very high level of COVID-19 in the country. The State Department has indicated that there are restrictions on the entry of US citizens into Luxembourg. The same warning was issued for the Netherlands.

The travel advisory for Luxembourg and the Netherlands was issued only yesterday, November 8, after these two countries reported increasing infection rates, reports.

Data provided by the World Health Organization (WHO) shows that in the past 24 hours alone, the Netherlands identified 11,398 new cases of COVID-19. In contrast, during this period, Luxembourg did not record any new cases, but since the beginning of the epidemic, the country has reported 82,842 cases of coronavirus.

Except for these two countries which have just been added to the travel advisory, the following EU/Schengen area countries also have ‘Level IV: Do not travel’ advice at the moment:

Austria (since October 4th) Belgium (since November 2nd) Bulgaria (since 27th September) Croatia (since 4th October) Estonia (since 30th August) Greece (since 2nd August) Ireland (since 2nd August) Latvia (since 4th October) Lithuania (since 4th October) Since September 13) Norway (since September 27) Romania (since October 12) Slovakia (since November 2) Slovenia (since September 13) Switzerland (since August 30)

This level of classification is the highest advisory level, which means that all US citizens, especially those who have not been vaccinated or have recovered from COVID-19, are at greater risk of contracting the virus when traveling to the above-mentioned countries.

Hence, in order to reduce the risk of infection or develop symptoms, the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention advises that all those who must travel to an EU/Schengen area country, for which travel advice is currently applied, are fully immunized with one of the Vaccines authorized by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Previously, the US administration revealed more details regarding arrivals from the European Union and some other countries, including the United Kingdom and Ireland. The authorities indicated that every passenger arriving in the country must provide proof of vaccination before boarding the plane.

Additionally, the same made clear that all incoming travelers, including Americans, would be required to get tested for COVID-19 within the first day of their departure.

>> Expert advises US citizens not to travel to Europe until spring

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No