Europe Travel News

Americans Still Urged to Refrain From Travelling to Half of Europe Ahead of Entry Ban Removal on Nov. 8

The US State Department continues to strongly advise Americans to refrain from traveling to nearly half of Europe due to COVID-19, less than three weeks before the ban on vaccinated travelers from the majority of the continent is lifted.

Update Travel Guidelines, by which the State Department advises US citizens the level of risk posed by travel to their potential destination, the US has not raised the “Level 4” alert for any new European country.

Moreover, it has raised the same alert status for Cyprus, which has been in effect since July 26, and instead advised Americans to reconsider travel to the country.

“The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued a Level 3 Travel Health Notice for Cyprus due to COVID-19, indicating a high level of COVID-19 in the country. Your risk of contracting COVID-19 and developing severe symptoms may be lower if you are fully vaccinated. with an FDA-approved vaccine,” the State Department notes.

“Level 3: Travel Revisited” has also been released for Hungary and Poland.

However, as many as 12 EU countries and the Schengen Area are still part of the Tier 4 list, out of a total of 31 countries are part of these two entities, as follows:

Austria (since 4 October) Bulgaria (since 27 September) Croatia (since 4 October) Estonia (since 30 August) Greece (since 2 August) Ireland (since 2 August) Latvia (since 4 October) Lithuania (since 13 September) Norway ( Since September 27) Romania (since October 12) Slovenia (since September 13) Switzerland (since August 30)

A Level 4 alert is also issued for other European countries outside the European Union and the Schengen Area. Since October 12, Americans have been urged to refrain from traveling to Moldova, Bosnia and Herzegovina, as well as Belarus, at all costs.

The “do not travel” advice is also effective for Albania since September 13, North Macedonia since August 30, and Kosovo since August 23. The above advice against travel applies to many other countries in Europe, including here Montenegro and the United Kingdom, Georgia, as well as Russia and Turkey.

Despite advice against travel, the US is set to open its borders to vaccinated travelers from the Schengen area, the UK and Ireland on November 8. Those who have been vaccinated with any of the vaccines approved by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA), in addition to those approved by the World Health Organization (WHO), will be allowed entry. Those with mixed vaccines will be considered complete vaccines, which is widely practiced throughout Europe.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No